Project 1 Proposal Outline

Posted on Updated on

Basic Interactivity – Sensor Activated Video Feed.

I want to have a projector displaying an image of me from far back. As the viewer approaches the screen, I want to walk forward and approach the viewer with a smile. As they retreat from the projected wall I want to walk backwards or turn around and walk back to my original position.

Potential Setup

An ultrasonic range finding sensor that measures the distance of the viewer from the back wall opposite to the wall in which the image of me is being projected. As the viewer gets further away from the sensor, the video file of me walking forward is played forward. As the viewer gets closer to the sensor, the clip of me runs backwards on MAX, thus I walk backwards in the projected image.

A computer would have to run the MAX/Jitter loop will monitor the microcontroller to sensor data feed and activate the video file when necessary. The projector or monitor will just be attached into the computer and output the video file played upon activation.  I have both MAC and Windows.  If need be I can load Linux onto my Windows laptop.  I don’t know however if I’ll be able to download multiple files of Max/Jitter licenses for different platforms.  I have a 1 year student license for 6.0.

I think I will have to chroma key the video file of myself as the figure in the video file using a blue/green screen so that I can remove the background so that all around me is projected white light, thus making my body appear upon a white wall, far back in the distance (distortion of perspective).  I will use Adobe Premiere/After Effects to do this.

Devices

A range finding sensor.  A PING is an ultrasonic range finder from Parallax. It detects the distance of the closest object in front of the sensor (from 2 cm up to 3m).

http://www.parallax.com/product/28015

An alternative beefier sensor with 6M range:

http://www.robotshop.com/ca/devantech-srf10-ultrasonic-range-finder-1.html

http://playground.arduino.cc/Interfacing/MaxMSP

KINECT????

Kinect object for MAX:http://jmpelletier.com/freenect/

I downloaded Homebrew and installed as I have a kinect. I probably will not use for this project.

ARDUINO: I might be able to run the sensor directly into the computer running MAX therefore eliminating the need for any other micro controllers.

http://playground.arduino.cc/interfacing/MaxMSP

http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/InterfacingWithHardware

Arduino BT: http://playground.arduino.cc/Learning/BtMacSetup

Projector or LCD. Back projection would permit the ability to allow viewer to approach projection in entirety. Otherwise viewers will have to stay away from projected wall so that their shadows don’t cut off image projection.

MAX/Jitter Video file – Green screen. I want to be in a white background so I blend into the white wall. Could take some tricky lighting to get nice.

I think I will have to chroma key the video file of myself as the figure in the video file using a blue/green screen so that I can remove the background so that all around me is projected white light, thus making my body appear upon a white wall, far back in the distance (distortion of perspective).

Wireless projectors are expensive. If I do a rear projection or create a silhouetted body then I could maybe eventually make them change colors. I could also hide the cords and max run CPU.

proposalpic_1

I may have to eliminate some features should the complexity become overwhelming.  There are the workshop resources at school as well as around sf.

 

TIME/SCHEDULE

I hope to have Max/Maxduino/Firmata working correctly and showing PING data by 9/23.

Ill have the video file shot by 9/25

I’ll try to figure out how to write if/then statements in MAX by to attach to Jitter Objects.  Also having the keying done for the video file with green screen needs to be done. 9/30

Getting the Whole coordinated project together and test with projector Oct. 9

Solder Oct 14

Present Oct 17.

Leave a Reply

